Beyond all Egg-spectations!

Just nine days after bringing my hens home, I went out do do my daily cleaning of the nesting boxes. (They sleep and poop in them every night.)  I also wanted to top off their feeder and check their water.

I stole a quick glance into the hen house and was absolutely floored to see a gorgeous pink orb tucked away in the corner right up against the clean-out door.  I ran to that door (warp speed), threw it open, and this is what i saw …

Image

Our first gorgeous egg!

I grabbed it and ran screaming into the house, thrilled to show it to the family.  They weren’t quite as excited as I was.  But, oh, well …

I expected that it would take six to eight weeks to start getting eggs.  But the girls started laying in less than two.  Within ten days all were laying, and they have been giving one egg each every morning before 10:30 ever since.

Like I said … Beyond all “egg-spectations!”

Categories: Eggs | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

